When Pigs walk on Two Legs

By Quinn M. A.

If you’re confused about why the characters in my stories are animals, want to know some important world-building facts about my stories’ universe, and/or don’t know what a furry is, read this!

All the characters in my webcomic are anthropomorphic animals, similar to humans, but also not, which is why they are described as species of animals! Almost all of them walk on two legs and talk and behave like humans, but have the appearance and plenty of physical abilities of the animals they are closely related to. They are basically like more advanced Garfields’ or Snoopys’. In internet culture these are often called furries, which is a very large subculture. These characters could be described as furries but as the furry subculture is quite large and extensive, they are only representative of their story and don’t really lend themselves to a lot of other types of furry characters which vary quite a bit! (For better or for worse, I don’t judge.) Them being animals is mostly an aesthetic choice which I enjoy, but also because I love animals and like giving my characters animal characteristics since I think it adds a neat layer to my personal stories.

As an extra note since this is kind of specific to my story/own characters and not furry or anthropomorphic animal characters as a whole; the anthropomorphic animal characters in my story also have a certain connection with the “feral” or quadruped versions of their species, which exist like how they do in our reality as humans, and can slightly communicate with them. This connection is often important to the species' culture. Species culture is another layer of cultural identity for the characters in my story, different and slightly less involved than ethnic or racial culture, which is basically the same as it is in our world, but still important due to the humanic animals and feral animal’s bonds. This is especially important to more naturalist individuals.

Thank you so much for Reading!