Some updates + my experience trying to get on T so far.

By Quinn - January 16th 2024

Hey! I haven’t written anything for this section of the website in awhile. I ended up removing the two main articles that I had here before because I, to be honest, felt a little embarrassed with them. The short story (celestina’s comet) is a fun idea, and I do want to approach rewriting and reworking again at some point when my webcomic bunny, bunny, is a bit closer to completion, but as it was I really do feel it was just kinda a short story that I wrote out of necessity last year due to my feelings of isolation and alienation with my peers. (haha get it because celestina’s comet is a sci-fi story) (Ok sorry.). However, I’ve come a long way since this time last year when I wrote it, and I want to focus on other writing and art projects for now. And as for my furry-math article thing, “the batness axis: what’s the deal with how humans draw stuff that isnt them?”, I think it was also a really interesting idea that past me had, but, for now, I feel it was a little rushed (I literally labeled the axes on the graph in that article wrong! I was doing homework about graphing at the time! How did I do that?!?) and not really explored or researched enough, and even a little judgy of other furry artists.

But, anyways, I don’t want this whole blog article to just be about me judging my old work that I put here, I also want to share some other life updates! Like, for example, my quest to get on testosterone! Which, I can say, has not been ideal… the family doctor that I go to is great and supportive of trans people like myself, and I’m lucky that my mom’s insurance covers that sorta thing! And that she has insurance in the first place! But, one thing about my mom’s insurance is that the company that owns it is… pretty religious. Not that there's anything wrong with that of course, *seinfeld riff*, but… it is a little problematic for my situation as all-american WASP-y christians (not going to specify the denomination for privacy and everything, but I think you get the idea from my description) aren’t always accepting or kind with a lot of what I am… so in short, I’m not being allowed to get genetic testing for factor V leiden, a genetic blood disorder which would make it dangerous for me to go on any type of hormone-altering product from birth control to the testosterone I desire.

I am sincerely hoping I did not inherit this from my mom or that the gene will basically be dormant once tested, but it is important that I check as I don’t want to get severe blood-clotting issues when I try to begin HRT. But apparently, my mom’s insurance doesn’t want me to check and make sure that I don’t have a dangerous blood-clotting disorder, as they “don’t support trans healthcare”. Lovely! Leaving the fact that the genetic testing would still be requested if I was female and wanted to go on birth control aside, I am just plain frustrated with how a company ran by people who've never even met me face to face can just deny a, what one could argue is necessary, genetic test to make sure I won’t get a possibly fatal blood-clot and pass out when I take my first dose of T! They will also probably not even be the ones providing me the testosterone as I was planning on going through the planned parenthood in my town for that, but, oh well! Me and my mom are trying to figure this whole thing out, but it is pretty annoying right now, but I will update with another article on this with more information once my quest for testosterone progresses!

Thank you for reading!